A Brief Introduction of the Paiwan Ceremonies and Legends Research Project


  Started in 1989, this project Paiwan Ceremonies and Legends combined several Paiwan research projects directed by Institute of Ethnology Research Fellow Hu Tai-li. In addition to receiving long-term financial support from the Institute, some of the research projects, such as “The Paiwan Kulalao female shaman ceremonial language,” were supported financially by the Executive Yuan’s National Science Council. In total, 1154 video tapes were recorded in the field using new light video cameras (including VHS, V8, Hi8, and DV models/tapes) 26 audio tapes and 2698 photographs, making this rich collection one of the largest components of the Taiwan Ethnography Video and Audio Archive.

  Shooting in the fields took place mainly in Kulalao Village (Laiyi Township, Pingtung County) and Tuban Village (Tajen Township, Taitung County) , which to this day continue to hold the Paiwan five-year ceremony and other traditional riturals. These recordings were later digitalized and placed in the “Paiwan Kulalao” and “Paiwan Tuban” sections, and other recordings from Nanhe, Wangchia, Laiyi, Pingho, and Santimen were placed in the “Paiwan other” section. The audio tapes were mainly Paiwan legends (mirimiringan) collected by Tjinuai Kaleradan, the project assistant, and placed in the “Paiwan audio” section. Field material from Kulalao was sometimes simultaneously recorded by Hu Tai-li and Tjinuai, and the portion shot by the latter was placed in the “Paiwan reference” section.

  The videotapes include the Paiwan five-year ceremony, six-year ceremony to send off the ancestors, cultivation ritual, sowing ritual, harvest ceremony, birth ritual, coming-of-age ritual, weddings, funerals, shaman initiation ritual, healing rituals, spirit-invoking ritual, shamanic chants, empowering spiritual power riturals, shaman interviews, songs, and legends. The five-year ceremony was fully recorded in 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009, and 2014, as was the six-year ceremony of the following year to send off the spirits, and these recordings provide a resource for studying the changes that Paiwan ceremonies have undergone over time.

排灣族祭儀與傳說研究計畫簡介


        《排灣族的祭儀與傳說研究計畫》是民族所研究員胡台麗自1989年起所主持的排灣族相關研究計畫的總匯。這些計畫除長期得到中研院民族學研究所的經費支持,有些計畫例如《排灣古樓女巫師祭儀經語的研究》並獲得行政院國科會的補助。此計畫以新發展的輕便攝錄影機(包括VHS、V8、Hi8、DV等機種與錄影帶)作田野影音採集,累積的錄影帶總數為1154捲,另有26卷錄音帶,以及2698張靜照,是《台灣民族誌數位影音典藏計畫》資料庫中數量最多、內容也極為豐富的一個單元。

        研究者最主要的田野影音攝錄地點為迄今仍然傳續著排灣族五年祭和其他傳統祭儀的屏東縣來義鄉古樓村,以及台東縣達仁鄉土坂村。此二村的影音資料數位化後置於「排灣古樓」與「排灣土坂」項下。此外,還有南和、望嘉、來義、平和、三地門等其他村落的影音攝錄採集,置於「排灣其他」項下。錄音帶則以本計畫助理柯惠譯(Tjinuai Kaleradan)所採錄的虛構傳說(mirimiringan)為主,置於「排灣錄音」項下。古樓田野期間有時胡台麗與助理Tjinuai同時採錄,助理所攝的部分置於「排灣參考」項下。

        這些錄影帶的內容包括排灣五年祭、六年送祖靈祭、開墾祭、播種祭、收穫祭、嬰兒出生儀式、青少年成長儀式、婚禮、喪禮、成巫儀式、治病儀式、招魂儀式、巫師唸經與唱經、賦予靈力儀式、巫師專訪、歌謠、傳說等。其中古樓五年祭儀式連續於1989、1994、1999、2004、2009、2014作全程錄影採集,而五年祭次年的六年送祖靈祭也有採錄,可根據這些影音資料作貫時性排灣祭儀變遷的研究。