The Amis Kakita’an Ancestral House Reconstruction Project


  The target of digitization of the “Amis Tafalong Kakita’an Ancestral House Reconstruction Project” was the approximately 249 video cassettes and 149 photographs recorded by Institute of Ethnology Research Fellow Hu Tai-li from 2003 to 2010 that documented the reconstruction of the Tafalong Kakita’an ancestral home.

  The Tafalong Kakita’an ancestral house is well-known in Amis-related academic literature. To this day, it is the only traditional Amis structure discovered featuring decoratively-carved pillars and beams. The structure was proclaimed as a historical site in 1935 by the Japanese colonial government and was set aside for preservation. However, in 1958 the Kakita’an ancestral house was destroyed by Typhoon Winnie and the tribe was unable to rebuild. Through the intervention of Institute of Ethnology Research Fellow Liu Pin-hsiung, the decorative pillars were transported to Taipei and became part of the Museum of Institute of Ethnology’s collection. In August 2003, youth representatives from Tafalong visited the museum in the hopes of returning the wooden pillars to their village to facilitate reconstruction. This set of recordings document the young people of Tafalong, the Kakita’an clan, shamans, and other representatives of the tribe and their interaction with the ancestral spirits residing in the pillars. The videos also show how the ancestral spirits were returned to Tafalong, the process of reconstruction of the Kakita’an ancestral house, and the changes that occurred following reconstruction.

  In addition, the digital cassettes also include precious recordings of the Tafalong New Year ceremony, oral histories and tribal legends, shamanic rituals, flying of the octagonal Tafalong kite, a musical performed by children from Tafalong Elementary, and Tafalong tribe members climbing the original Cirangasan Mountain.

  The most detailed account in the literature regarding the Amis Tafalong Kakita’an ancestral home is Institute of Ethnology Research Fellow Jen Shien-min’s “The Ancestral Hall of the Hualien Tafalong Amis”(1958 Bulletin of the Institute of Ethnology 6:79-106), which is of great reference value.

阿美族太巴塱kakita’an祖屋重建計畫簡介


  《阿美族太巴塱kakita’an祖屋重建計畫》數位化的目標為中研院民族所研究員胡台麗從2003年起到2010年攝錄的與太巴塱kakita’an祖屋重建主題相關的錄影帶249捲及靜照149張。

  太巴塱Kakita’an祖屋在阿美族文獻上非常有名,是迄今發現唯一樑柱有刻繪圖紋的傳統阿美族建物。此棟建物於日據昭和10年(1935)被台灣總督府史蹟名勝天然物調查會指定為史蹟保存。1958年Kakita’an祖屋為溫妮颱風吹毀,族人無力重建。後來在民族所研究員劉斌雄先生交涉下,將倒地的雕刻屋柱運到台北,入藏民族所博物館。2003年8月,太巴塱年輕人代表拜訪民族所博物館,希望能取回木柱,促成祖屋的重建。此批錄影帶紀錄了太巴塱年輕人、Kakita’an家族、巫師和其他部落代表與民族所及屋柱上祖靈接觸,最終將祖靈迎回太巴塱,重建Kakita’an祖屋的經過,以及祖屋重建後所產生的效應與變化。

  此外,數位化影音內容還包括太巴塱年祭儀式、口述歷史與傳說、巫師祭儀、施放太巴塱八角型風箏、太巴塱國小學童展演「大洪水」歌舞劇、太巴塱族人登祖源地Cirangasan山等珍貴紀錄。

  關於阿美族太巴塱Kakita’an祖屋的文字資料中最詳盡的是中研院民族所研究員任先民發表的「花蓮太巴塱阿美族的祖祠」(1958中研院民族所集刊6:79-106),極具參考價值。