A Brief Introduction of the Taiwan Ethnography Video and Audio Archive

 
  The purpose of this project Taiwan Ethnography Video and Audio Archive is to digitalize important ethnographic audio-video collected by the Museum of Institute of Ethnography of the Academia Sinica, Taiwan. Beginning in 1984, this material was mostly gathered over the last twenty-five years in various research projects under the direction of Institute of Ethnology Research Fellow Hu Tai-li. It includes about 2,500 videotapes and films, 270 audiotapes, and 8300 photographs of different formats, and is currently the largest collection of ethnographic audio-video in the field of Taiwanese anthropology.

  This first hand data, gathered by researchers engaged in participant observation and socio-cultural practice in the field, encompasses Taiwan’s various ethnic groups and includes audio-video materials featuring aborigines, which speak Austronesian languages, Chinese-dialect speaking Taiwanese, Hakkas, and veteran-mainlanders from mainland China. It displays the richness and diversity of Taiwanese culture and provides a great resource for researching and understanding the transition from tradition to modernity faced by Taiwan’s ethnic groups.

  This project has a priority to digitalize video tapes, films, and audio tapes, and organize them into the following categories based on nature of research and presentation: Taiwan Aboriginal ceremonial songs and dances, Paiwan ceremonies and legends, Changing ceremonies of the Saisiat, Paiwan nose and mouth flutes, Formosan Aboriginal Song and Dance Troupe collections , Puyuma shamans and ceremonies, Rebuilding the Amis ancestral house, Taiwanese Minnan and Hakka villages, Oral history of veteran-mainlanders, Ethnographic Documentary Production. From 2007 to 2015, digitalization has completed with the support of the National Digital Archives Program.

台灣民族誌數位影音典藏計畫簡介

 
  《台灣民族誌數位影音典藏計畫》之數位化目標主要為中央研究院民族學研究所博物館收藏的一批極具特色的民族誌影音資料。這批資料是民族學研究所研究員胡台麗從1984年開始,長達二十餘年主持的各類研究計畫所採集的影音資料,包括不同規格之錄影帶和電影片約2,500餘捲、錄音帶約270餘捲、靜照8,300餘張,以及調查問卷287份,應是台灣人類學界迄今採集為數最多的一批珍貴民族誌影音資料。

  這批由研究者於田野進行參與觀察及知識實踐期間所採集的一手影音資料涵蓋了台灣的各族群,包括南島語系的原住民、漢語系的閩南和客家,以及外省榮民之影音紀錄,充分呈現台灣文化的多樣性與豐富內涵,可據以研究和瞭解台灣各族群的傳統文化與現代變遷。

  本計畫依照研究暨展演計畫之性質分為「原住民族祭儀歌舞」、「排灣族祭儀與傳說」、「賽夏族祭儀之變遷」、「排灣族鼻笛與口笛」、「原舞者採集與展演」、「卑南族巫師與祭儀」、「阿美族祖屋之重建」、「台灣閩南與客家村」、「外省榮民口述歷史」、「民族誌紀錄片攝製」等項目,在「數位典藏國家型科技計畫」支持下,從2007年起到2015年,逐步完成數位化之工作。