A Brief Introduction to the Changing Ceremonies of the Saisiat


  “The Changing Ceremonies of the Saisiat” is a project dealing with the collection of information dealing primarily with Saisiat ceremonies. It has been headed since 1986 by Hu Tai-Li, a research fellow at the Institute of Ethnology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan. For this project, light and handy video recorders, including VHS, V8, and DVs, and digital voice recorders were used to collect field audio-visual data. 255 video recordings, 70 audio tapes and 1266 photographs have been accumulated.

  What makes this audio-visual data most special is the Pasta’ay ceremony for the legendary little people , a splendid ritual of the rites performed by the Saisiat, recorded over a long period of time by researchers. The Saisiat Pasta’ay ceremony takes place once every two years with a grander ceremony being held once every ten years. Recording for this project began in 1986. Coincidentally, that was the same year of a major once-a-decade ceremony. The filming crew was divided into two teams with one responsible for filming the Pasta’ay ceremony at the northern tribe of the Saisiat residing in Wufeng, Hsinchu and the southern tribe of the Saisiat in Nanzhuang, Miaoli. After 1986, researchers recorded continually primarily at Pasta’ay ceremonies in Wufeng, Hsinchu (sometimes extending to Nanzhuang, Miaoli). Since 1986, the ten-year Pasta’ay ceremonies in 1996 and 2006 have also been recorded. In audio-visual classification work for this project, therefore, the major once-a-decade ceremonies are used to mark the beginning of new sections, such as “Saisiat Ceremonies 1986-1995,” “Saisiat Ceremonies 1996-2005,” and “Saisiat Ceremonies 2006~” to facilitate longitudinal studies of changes in Saisiat rituals when carrying out comparative research.

  In addition to the large variety of Pasta’ay rituals and songs recorded for the “Changing Ceremonies of the Saisiat,” we also filmed “the prayer to heaven ritual” from Nanzhuang, Miaoli, the rituals in the newly developed Saisiat Wu Fu Dragon Temple, the bride returning to the home of her parents ceremony, the sowing ritual, funerals, and shaman divining rituals of the Toufen Saisiat, harvest songs, weeding songs, and general songs of the Saisiat, as well as public performances of the Wufeng Saisiat. Video tapes of this project include complete performances of Pasta’ay ceremonial songs. These audio-visual data represent the essence of Saisiat ceremonies and culture. The writing exhibition portion includes a few articles dealing with Pasta’ay ceremony written by Hu Tai-Li and can be compared with audio-visual data to further enhance understanding of Saisiat culture.

賽夏族祭儀之變遷計畫簡介


        《賽夏族祭儀之變遷計畫》是中研院民族所研究員胡台麗自1986年起所主持的以賽夏族祭儀為重心的計畫之彙集。在此計畫下以輕便錄影機(VHS、V8、DV等)和數位錄音機進行田野影音採集。累積的錄影帶總數達255捲,另有錄音帶70捲以及靜照1266張。

        此批影音資料最大的特色為研究者長期紀錄了賽夏族最盛大且具代表性的矮人祭(pasta’ay)。賽夏矮人祭每兩年一次,每十年舉行一次大祭。此計畫開始資料採錄時恰逢1986年的十年大祭,攝錄團隊分為兩組,分別於賽夏北群的新竹五峰與南群的苗栗南庄進行矮人祭的影音紀錄。1986年以後的每屆矮人祭,研究者主要在新竹五峰(有時擴及苗栗南庄)持續性地作紀錄。繼1986年,又經歷了1996年和2006年的矮人祭十年大祭。因此,此計畫在作影音分類時,以每一個十年大祭作為新段落的起始,分為「賽夏祭儀1986-1995」、「賽夏祭儀1996-2005」、「賽夏祭儀2006~」等項目,以利於對賽夏祭儀的變遷作貫時性的比較研究。

        《賽夏族祭儀之變遷計畫》的影音內容除了極豐富的矮人祭儀式與祭歌,還攝錄了苗栗南庄的祈天祭、頭份賽夏五福龍賽堂的儀式、回娘家儀式、播種祭、喪禮、巫師占卜儀式、賽夏播種歌與除草歌及一般性歌謠、五峰賽夏族的對外表演等。本計畫的錄音帶包括完整的矮人祭歌的演唱。此批影音資料呈現了賽夏祭儀與文化的精華。著作展示部分收錄了幾篇胡台麗寫的關於矮人祭的文章,可與影音資料相對照,以增進對賽夏文化的理解。